PARAW Back on the high seas

Crowd gathers at the starting point of the sailing event. —CONTRIBUTED PHOTOS

ILOILO CITY—On the eve of the 50th Iloilo-Guimaras Paraw Regatta Festival on March 18, artists were hard at work on the colorful sails that would power the native double-outrigger boats in competition. 

paraw 1
Getting ready for the race

The Philippines’ biggest traditional boat sailing event—the oldest in Asia—returned after a three-year hiatus imposed by the Covid-19 pandemic. The 30-kilometer race on the high seas took off at the Arevalo District in Iloilo City and ended there.

Forty paraw took part in three categories: “A” (25 feet overall length); “B” (waterline of 16.1-22 ft); and “C” (waterline of over 22 ft).

Marking the competitors

The winners were the Arlyn of Orlando Demetillo Sr. of Camangay, Leganes, Iloilo, (Category A); the Kiss 2 of Ricardo Gabales of Parara Sur, Tigbauan, Iloilo, (Catageory B); and Team Ashley of Teody Belejerdo of Sambiray, Malay, Aklan, (Category C).

Others in the Top 10 Paraw Regatta were:

“A” – Amira Fly of Michael Anthony Tangub of Poblacion, Tigbauan (second); LD of Wennie Demetillo Sr. of Camangay, Leganes (third); Kokoy of Ariel Gad of Sambiray, Malay, (fourth); CJ and Princess of Reynaldo S. Aranda Jr. of Calaparan, Arevalo, Iloilo (fifth); Ninia and Isiah of Hector Espinosa of Sto. Niño Sur, Arevalo, Iloilo (sixth); Zaccheo 156 of Francisco Aguirre Jr. of Sambiray, Malay (seventh); RB of Rogelio Gareza of Guimbal, Iloilo (eighth); Rchelle Marie of Reman Balidiong of Sto. Niño Sur (ninth); and RP of Paciano Gampay Jr. of San Lorenzo, Guimaras (10th).

“B” – Marx Karley of Orlando Demetillo Sr.of Camangay, Leganes (second); 2 Angels of Jayde Pauchano Jr. of Camangay (third); Jolina of Rolando Tajanglangit of Parar Sur, Tigbauan (fourth); Jofman V3 of Nicanor Silvan Gad of Balabag, Malay (fifth); RJ of Rogelio Gareza of Guimbal, Iloilo (sixth); Kristine and Kassie of Oscar Espinosa of Sto. Niño Sur, Arevalo (seventh); Kiss of Ricardo Gabales of Parara Sur, Tigbauan (eighth); Alexsa May of Efren Aguirre of Sambiray, Malay (ninth); and Apotat’s of Hector Espinosa of Sto. Niño Sur, Arevalo (10th).

“C” – Boralee of Reynaldo Sejane of Argao, Malay (second); Wave Runner of Meriam Cahilig of Cabugao Norte, Malay (third); Bull Jack of Edgar Pauhano of Camangay, Leganes (fourth); Cheryl of Federico Tantiado Jr of Parara Sur, Tigbauan (fifth); Marjhonic of Hector Espinosa of Sto. Niño Sur, Arevalo (sixth); Happy Hour of Ronel Cahilig of Cubay Sur, Malay (seventh); Song Fleet of Michelle Delos Santos of Manoc Manoc, Boracay, Aklan (eighth); Antonette of Karl Anthony Demetillo of Baranogay Bigke, Leganes (ninth); and Consejo of Hector Espinosa of Sto. Niño Sur, Arevalo (10th).

The first place winners received P40,000 (“A”), P64,000 (“B”) and P96,000 (“C”); the second placers took home, P24,000; P40,000; and P64,000, respectively; and the third placers, P16,000, P24,000 and P40,000, respectively.

The 4th to 10th placers, as well as all finishers, also received prizes.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.